Apple teams up with Aetna on new health honor app

A neat swipe before berth allays the mind.

Image: Bob Al-Greene/ Mashable

In our Love App-tuallyseries, Mashable gleams a light into the foggy nature of online dating. Just in time for cuffing season.


There was a time in my life when I missed good-for-nothing more than to get off dating apps.

Back when I was in my twenties, I thought that dating apps were the end of our culture and the precipitating cause behind all my suffering. Too pathetic to get up in the morning? It’s maybe because XxGothGirlxX never responded to my very funny OkCupid message that referenced Foxfire( severely, who else could she find who is aware of the fact that movie ?). Too agitated to dine? Well, that’s because I wasn’t getting enough Tinder competitors. Everyone on there was clearly threatened by my remarkably inventive bio.

The truth was that dating apps could realize me sad, but they could also provide intense, terribly slaking outbursts of narcissistic solace.

Some part of me will ever long for my swiping days of yore.

To be clear( especially to my girlfriend who is probably reading this upright right now ), I don’t long for being single at all. There are people who are perfectly happy living life without project partners and that’s marvelou. I, however, am not one of them.

I don’t miss the days of microwaving Morningstar Farms chicken pieces , now that I come home to a partner who cares about her lifespan and stimulating food that’s actually supposed to go in your person. I don’t ever want to go on a date again with person preoccupied with speaking me parts from her dissertation on gay accomplishment assumption and Weimar Republic jester artwork. I want to go home to my partner who … doesn’t do that.

[ Trigger counselling for extreme cheesiness] I’m in a joyous, affection tie-in, and I’m not interested in turning back the clock.

Here’s what I do miss about dating apps 😛 TAGEND

1. It was a region to feel superior

I wasn’t the hottest ticket on OkCupid by a long shot. What I was, however, was a snot. I felt such a gross tugboat of predominance when I ascertained parties list Fight Club as their favorite journal or rostered traveling as one of their favorite hobbies in their Tinder bio. Never knowledge that I actually liked both of those things — I would never dare to be that unoriginal and write them down in my profile.

I’m not proud of this specific one of the purposes of my history, but I’m not going to deny that this feeling once existed.

2. There was something to swipe on when I was bored “re all waiting on” the train

We all requirement activities to satisfy our minuscule notice spans. Reading is enormou. Swiping? Even better. I once enjoyed the feeling of euphoria I went from making a parallel, even if I didn’t like the person or persons on the other aim.

Nowadays, I’m forced to go on Twitter to remain my mentality participated. Equated to Tinder and OkCupid, it’s a devastatingly depressing programme. I’d much rather be turned down by a knot of self-professed Slytherins on Tinder than read about Sen. Lindsey Graham’s recent psychological outburst.

3. I had a residence for my hottest selfies

Every once in a while, I’ll get a haircut that I remember looks good, and I’ll want to pole it somewhere. My girlfriend, who is a better being than me, is automatically supportive. I feel awkward about posting a sexy selfie on Instagram, where old coworkers follow me. Does my old boss who I worked with in foster care really want to see me preparing duck cheeks? She does not.

To get my full high, I requirement the affirmation of strangers. If I was on Tinder, I’d have the infinite to revel my crudest, most narcissistic impulses.

4. It was a residence to get form inspo

Without the internet, I’d probably dress alone out of the L.L. Bean catalogue. Good-for-nothing prepares me happier than a well-crafted New England loafer.

As a gay party, Tinder is where I used to go for sartorial muse. There aren’t that many style blogs out there for gender non-conforming folks, so the best direction to search out homosexual mode is by moving through homosexual parties on dating apps.

Tinder is the reason I have a floral bomber case today. For that, I am grateful.

5. It obliged me to write funny jokes

Some of my best good comedic cloth is in my 2009 OkCupid profile. Before I was able to write for the internet, I wrote for the purposes of an gathering of possibilities girlfriends on OkCupid. Folks, I killed it — at least with my* sassy* copy.

Nowadays, most of my writing on social media is limited to calling parties totalitarians or expending the vomiting emoji to describe the subway system.

OkCupid and Tinder regarded me to a higher editorial standard than Twitter.

6. I got a lot of enormous recommendations

My music taste is chiefly limited to music you’ll find on Now That’s What I Call Music. Thanks to OkCupid, I was able to browse the music interests of people who were far cooler than me. Desire my Apple Music playlists? You can thank the OkCupid community of 2005.

The same starts for cinema and television services and facilities. Before OkCupid, I was watching the same escapades of The L Word over and over again. Now I have an expanded scope of drivel I watch on the reg.

7. Tinder and OkCupid made me community

I’m ashamed to acknowledge this, but online dating gave me the majority of members of my current network of friends. It can be hard to find friends in the lesbian community, which, statistically, is much smaller than the straight population. Often on Tinder or OkCupid, I’d find beings just looking for friends, and I’d go out and befriend them( premising we were compatible/ they weren’t too serious about astrology ).

People I formerly dated became close friends. Heck, beings I convened for half a beer grew most special friend.

For all of the anguish dating apps gave me, they still “ve been given” this.

Listen — acquiring my girlfriend reads this positions and doesn’t drop me, I’ll never go back. But I can still manage to be grateful.

More from Love App-tually

My horrible online years live on as zombies on Instagram

Finstas attain online dating so much more complicated

The rise of the Tinder-themed wedding

Source: http://allofbeer.com/apple-teams-up-with-aetna-on-new-health-reward-app/

Leave a comment